Photo of Steve Daines
R United States Senate · Montana

Sen. Steve Daines

Compare
Total votes
1,037
all sessions
Attendance
98%
23 missed
Near the chamber average
With party
94%
of cast votes
Higher than 87% of chamber peers
Bipartisan score
4%
crosses aisle rarely
Lower than 91% of chamber peers
Sponsored
1,388
bills & resolutions
Near the chamber average
Committees
13
assignments
Federal Election Commission filings

Campaign finance

FEC data through Dec 31, 2024. Covering the 2024 two-year cycle only.

  • FEC record H2MT01060 resolved no authorized committee for cycle 2024, so the receipts and spending it reports are the money S2MT00096 already reports and are counted once. Outside spending is reported against each candidate record separately, so both records' outside spending is included.

Compare cycles

Each column is one cycle through its own coverage date. The active cycle is still accumulating activity; closed cycles are historical records. No percentage change is calculated between unequal reporting windows. Outside spending is separated from campaign activity because it was never received or controlled by the campaign.

Recent campaign-finance totals by election cycle for Steve Daines
Measure 2026 active cycle Through Jun 30, 2026 Cycle-to-date, not final 2024 closed cycle Through Dec 31, 2024 2022 closed cycle Through Dec 31, 2022
Money received
Total receipts $4,728,811$1,682,254$1,944,205
Individuals $1,375,09029.1% of receipts$588,96435.0% of receipts$1,007,16851.8% of receipts
PACs and other committees $1,352,05028.6% of receipts$693,80041.2% of receipts$399,02520.5% of receipts
Campaign activity
Campaign spending $3,872,917$669,095$1,306,904
Cash on hand $2,614,137$1,758,243$745,084
Debt owed $44,813$44,813$44,813
Contribution refunds $1,484,117$14,500$149,769
Independent spending: not campaign money
Outside support $0$0$0
Outside opposition $0$0$0

The 2024 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$1,682,254
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$588,964
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$693,800
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$669,095
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$1,758,243
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $1,682,254 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2024 cycle
Source Amount Share of receipts
Individual contributions $588,964 35.0%
PAC and other committee contributions $693,800 41.2%
Party committee contributions $0 0.0%
Candidate self-funding $0 0.0%
Loans $0 0.0%
Other receipts, including transfers $399,491 23.7%
Total receipts $1,682,254 100%

Self-funding, loans, and cash

Reported factual values. They are not a judgement about how strong or healthy a campaign is.

Candidate self-funding, loans, and cash for the 2024 cycle
Measure Amount
Candidate self-funding$0
Candidate loans$0
Other loans$0
Party committee contributions$0
Cash on hand at coverage end$1,758,243

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Dec 31, 2024 for the 2024 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2024 cycle
Measure Amount
Cash on hand at coverage end $1,758,243
Debts and obligations owed by the committee $44,813
Debts and obligations owed to the committee Not reported
Contributions refunded to individuals $2,500
Contributions refunded to committees $12,000
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising. $261,047
Transfers made to other authorized committees $0
Repayments of candidate loans $0
Repayments of other loans $0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
Measure Amount How it was produced
Contributions net of refunds $1,268,264 Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsets Not reported An input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans $0 Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans $0 Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded $14,500 Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00491357, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what Q3 2024 reported and what YE 2024 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. Q3 2024 reported through Sep 30, 2024 and YE 2024 through Dec 31, 2024.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00491357
Measure Q3 2024Reported through Sep 30, 2024 YE 2024Reported through Dec 31, 2024 Change
Cash on hand at period end $1,527,724 $1,758,243 Up $230,519
Debts owed by the committee $44,813 $44,813 No change
Contribution refunds in the period $0 $0 No change

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $1,758,243 set beside the $175,746 this campaign spent during YE 2024, through Dec 31, 2024, which is 10.0 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by Steve Daines. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2024 cycle

Spent opposing

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2024 cycle

What the money was spent on

These categories divide $577,239 of itemized spending across 191 transactions, through Dec 31, 2024. That subtotal covers the FEC's published operating-expenditure records, which do not include transfers, loan repayments, refunds, or contributions the campaign made, and is 86.3% of the $669,095 in total disbursements reported for the 2024 cycle. Every share below is a share of that subtotal and never of total spending. Purposes were classified under taxonomy spend-1.3.

The difference between that subtotal and total disbursements is spending reported without itemization, which cannot be categorized.

Itemized spending by reported purpose for the 2024 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Unclassified filing descriptions Spending whose reported purpose could not be placed in the taxonomy. It is counted, not guessed at. $241,525 41.8% 97
Fundraising and solicitation $204,183 35.4% 21
Travel $44,400 7.7% 15
Legal, accounting, and compliance $42,159 7.3% 10
Campaign materials $17,269 3.0% 3
Administration, salary, and overhead $15,750 2.7% 39
Events $6,900 1.2% 2
Consulting, type not specified $3,000 0.5% 2
Technology and digital services $1,303 0.2% 1
Advertising and media $750 0.1% 1
Classified $335,714 58.2%
Unclassified filing descriptions $241,525 41.8%
Itemized spending categorized here $577,239 100% 191

Political committees that contributed directly · S2MT00096

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

Top 5 of 252 shown $828,074 total · $51,883 shown here

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Mar 8, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 DENBURY INC POLITICAL COMMITTEE C00440651 $11,883 1.4% 1 Oct 24, 2023
2 ACPAC ACA INTERNATIONAL POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00034785 $10,000 1.2% 2 Apr 19, 2023
3 DELTA AIR LINES PAC C00104802 $10,000 1.2% 3 Dec 19, 2024
4 NATIONAL MULTIFAMILY HOUSING COUNCIL POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00130773 $10,000 1.2% 2 Dec 19, 2024
5 CHS INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00149104 $10,000 1.2% 2 Mar 14, 2024
Show the complete list of 252 committees →

Fundraising channels · S2MT00096

Some money arrives through a committee that raised or collected it rather than from a committee that decided to give it. Those committees are listed here instead of among the political committees that contributed, because calling a payment processor or a shared fundraising account a donor would say something the filings do not. None of this is added to, or subtracted from, any total above.

Conduits

A conduit forwards contributions that individuals earmarked for a named candidate. The amounts below come from the receiving campaign's conduit memo records and remain part of its reported individual-contribution total; they are not added to receipts again. MyRepTracker groups only memos carrying a registered conduit committee's FEC ID and does not decode or store contributor names, addresses, employers, occupations, or memo text. The record count is a count of FEC memo records, not donors.

Conduit records shown through Dec 31, 2024 · fetched Aug 20, 2026.

1 organization shown $0 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Mar 8, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Registered conduits ranked by individuals' earmarked contributions routed through them
Rank Committee Amount Share FEC memo records Last activity
1 WINRED C00694323 $0 Not available 12 Jun 5, 2024

Who the committees behind this money were · S2MT00096

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2024 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to Steve Daines

Committees itemized $828,074 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2024 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Corporate PACs $510,383 61.6% 160 224
Trade association PACs $130,131 15.7% 45 64
Non-connected committees $82,500 10.0% 22 32
Leadership PACs $36,000 4.3% 5 8
Membership organization PACs $32,560 3.9% 12 14
Corporations without capital stock $14,000 1.7% 5 6
Labor union PACs $12,500 1.5% 2 5
Cooperative PACs $10,000 1.2% 1 2
Itemized total for this direction $828,074

What interests those committees advance · S2MT00096

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to Steve Daines

Committees itemized $828,074 in contributions to this campaign. $36,000 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $792,074, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $544,260 and committees not yet categorized account for $247,814.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2024 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Insurance Finance, insurance, and real estate $81,000 10.2% 24 33
Pharmaceuticals Health $74,000 9.3% 23 34
Securities and investment Finance, insurance, and real estate $50,500 6.4% 15 23
Construction Construction $41,500 5.2% 10 16
Food and beverage Agriculture $38,760 4.9% 10 14
Technology Communications and technology $37,500 4.7% 11 17
Commercial banking Finance, insurance, and real estate $33,000 4.2% 13 19
Telecommunications Communications and technology $26,000 3.3% 8 11
Air transport Transportation $24,500 3.1% 7 12
Real estate Finance, insurance, and real estate $17,500 2.2% 5 7
Oil and gas Energy and natural resources $14,500 1.8% 8 8
Media and entertainment Communications and technology $12,000 1.5% 3 5
Physicians and medical specialties Health $11,500 1.5% 4 5
Pro-Republican Party Ideological and single-issue $10,000 1.3% 1 2
Trucking Transportation $10,000 1.3% 3 3
Hospitals and nursing homes Health $8,500 1.1% 3 4
Building trades unions Labor $7,500 0.9% 1 2
Health insurance Health $7,500 0.9% 2 3
Mining Energy and natural resources $7,500 0.9% 2 2
Industrial unions Labor $7,000 0.9% 1 2
Agribusiness Agriculture $5,000 0.6% 2 2
Electric utilities Energy and natural resources $3,500 0.4% 3 3
Automotive Transportation $3,000 0.4% 2 2
Credit unions Finance, insurance, and real estate $2,500 0.3% 1 1
Nurses and nursing specialties Health $2,500 0.3% 1 1
Public sector unions Labor $2,500 0.3% 1 1
Renewable energy Energy and natural resources $2,500 0.3% 1 1
Defense Defense $2,000 0.3% 1 2
Lawyers and law firms Professional services $500 0.1% 1 1
Committees not yet categorized $247,814 31.3% 80 111
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $36,000 Not applicable 5 8
Base the shares are taken over $792,074 100%
Itemized total for this direction $828,074

Filing periods · STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA

Each row is one filing period as that committee reported it, not a running cycle total. Receipts, spending, and end-of-period cash are drawn on one shared scale, so no bar here uses a different axis from any other. Every row comes from the one filing in force for its period; the filing ledger below lists that filing and any earlier version it replaced.

Filing periods reported by STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA, FEC committee C00491357
Period Receipts Spending Cash at end Filing
Q1 2023 through Mar 31, 2023 $109,448 $57,672 $796,861 FEC filing ↗
Q2 2023 through Jun 30, 2023 $226,573 $69,776 $953,658 FEC filing ↗
Q3 2023 through Sep 30, 2023 $132,609 $74,573 $1,011,694 FEC filing ↗
YE 2023 through Dec 31, 2023 $172,072 $36,284 $1,147,482 FEC filing ↗
Q1 2024 through Mar 31, 2024 $164,730 $51,282 $1,260,930 FEC filing ↗
Q2 2024 through Jun 30, 2024 amended $248,030 $69,872 $1,439,087 FEC filing ↗
Q3 2024 through Sep 30, 2024 $222,527 $133,891 $1,527,724 FEC filing ↗
YE 2024 through Dec 31, 2024 $406,266 $175,746 $1,758,243 FEC filing ↗

Political committees that contributed directly · H2MT01060

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

No direct contributions from political committees are reported for this cycle.

Fundraising channels · H2MT01060

Some money arrives through a committee that raised or collected it rather than from a committee that decided to give it. Those committees are listed here instead of among the political committees that contributed, because calling a payment processor or a shared fundraising account a donor would say something the filings do not. None of this is added to, or subtracted from, any total above.

Conduits

No authorized recipient committee was available for the conduit memo query.

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

No Form 6 notices were found for the 2024 cycle. Notices are only required in the 20 days before an election, so none is the usual state outside that window.

The committees around this campaign

The Federal Election Commission links several kinds of committee to one candidate, and they are not interchangeable. An authorized campaign committee is the campaign. A joint fundraising committee raises money for several participants at once and passes each a share. A leadership PAC is controlled by the member and is not their campaign at all. Every row below is labelled with the designation the FEC itself filed, and none is inferred from a committee's name.

FEC candidate records

The FEC keys a candidate ID to one office, so a member who has run for more than one holds more than one ID. Each keeps its own committees and its own totals, and this product never merges them into a single record.

FEC candidate records linked to Steve Daines
FEC candidate ID Office State and district Cycles with stored data FEC record
H2MT01060 House MT district 1 2022 through 2026 FEC ↗
S2MT00096 Senate MT 2022 through 2026 FEC ↗

Committees the FEC links to those records

Committees linked to Steve Daines's FEC candidate records, by designation
Committee What it is Cycles linked FEC record
STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 Authorized campaign committee P 2022 through 2026 FEC ↗
C00751404 C00751404 Authorized campaign committee A 2022 through 2024 Not linked in the most recent cycle stored here. That is not the same as terminated. FEC ↗
DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 Joint fundraising committee J 2022 through 2026 FEC ↗
DAINES MONTANA VICTORY COMMITTEE C00506865 Joint fundraising committee J 2022 through 2024 Not linked in the most recent cycle stored here. That is not the same as terminated. FEC ↗
DAINES VICTORY COMMITTEE C00615807 Joint fundraising committee J 2022 through 2024 Not linked in the most recent cycle stored here. That is not the same as terminated. FEC ↗
DEFEND THE SENATE C00695353 Joint fundraising committee J 2022 Not linked in the most recent cycle stored here. That is not the same as terminated. FEC ↗

What the records show changing

Each row is something the FEC's own filings state, in the cycle they state it. The FEC's published files carry no registration or termination dates, so these are cycles rather than days, and every row links to the record it came from.

Committee and candidate-record changes for Steve Daines, oldest first
Cycle Change What it means Source
2022 Ran for Senate under a new FEC candidate ID The FEC keys a candidate ID to an office, so the move from House to Senate created S2MT00096 alongside H2MT01060. Both remain valid and each keeps its own committees and totals. FEC ↗
2022 First cycle the FEC links STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA to this member The FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered. FEC ↗
2022 First cycle the FEC links C00751404 to this member The FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered. FEC ↗
2022 First cycle the FEC links DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND to this member The FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered. FEC ↗
2022 First cycle the FEC links DAINES MONTANA VICTORY COMMITTEE to this member The FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered. FEC ↗
2022 First cycle the FEC links DAINES VICTORY COMMITTEE to this member The FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered. FEC ↗
2022 First cycle the FEC links DEFEND THE SENATE to this member The FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered. FEC ↗
2022 Last cycle the FEC links DEFEND THE SENATE to this member A committee absent from a later cycle's linkage is not necessarily terminated: it may have filed nothing, or the cycle may not be ingested. Its FEC record shows whether it filed a termination report. FEC ↗
2024 Last cycle the FEC links C00751404 to this member A committee absent from a later cycle's linkage is not necessarily terminated: it may have filed nothing, or the cycle may not be ingested. Its FEC record shows whether it filed a termination report. FEC ↗
2024 Last cycle the FEC links DAINES MONTANA VICTORY COMMITTEE to this member A committee absent from a later cycle's linkage is not necessarily terminated: it may have filed nothing, or the cycle may not be ingested. Its FEC record shows whether it filed a termination report. FEC ↗
2024 Last cycle the FEC links DAINES VICTORY COMMITTEE to this member A committee absent from a later cycle's linkage is not necessarily terminated: it may have filed nothing, or the cycle may not be ingested. Its FEC record shows whether it filed a termination report. FEC ↗

Transfers between committees

A transfer moves money that was already raised. When a joint fundraising committee sends a campaign its share, or a campaign shifts a balance between two of its own committees, the money was raised once and is being moved. It is never counted as money raised, here or in any total on this page.

Transfers in, as Steve Daines's own reports state them
$522,095
From authorized committees, in the FEC's summary for the 2024 cycle
Transfers out, as Steve Daines's own reports state them
$0
To authorized committees, in the same summary

Both committees file their own record of the same transfer, so the itemized rows below count each one once: 36 transfers, of which 14 were reported by both sides. Counting each filing separately would have added $394,850 that no one raised twice. These are the committees' own itemized filings and the summary figures above come from a different FEC file; the two routinely differ and neither is a correction of the other.

Itemized transfers, by direction, for the 2024 cycle
Direction Amount
Into one of these committees from elsewhere$263,526
Out of one of these committees to elsewhere$497,571
Between two of these committees$336,514
Transfers involving Steve Daines's committees in the 2024 cycle, newest first
Date From To Amount Reported by Filing
Dec 27, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $26,531 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Dec 27, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $19,656 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Dec 27, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $33,872 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Dec 27, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 same campaign $22,226 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Dec 27, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $97,521 One committee FEC filing ↗
Dec 27, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $97,255 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 8, 2024 RECLAIM THE MAJORITY C00872101 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 $9,427 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 8, 2024 RECLAIM THE MAJORITY C00872101 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 $28,993 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 5, 2024 RECLAIM THE MAJORITY C00872101 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 $28,993 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 5, 2024 RECLAIM THE MAJORITY C00872101 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 $9,427 One committee FEC filing ↗
Aug 12, 2024 SENATE PATH TO VICTORY 2024 C00874487 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 $4,680 One committee FEC filing ↗
Aug 9, 2024 SENATE PATH TO VICTORY 2024 C00874487 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 $4,680 One committee FEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2024 SENATE PATH TO VICTORY 2024 C00874487 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 $88,663 One committee FEC filing ↗
Jun 28, 2024 SENATE PATH TO VICTORY 2024 C00874487 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 $88,663 One committee FEC filing ↗
Apr 4, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $45,000 One committee FEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $59,000 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $23,000 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 same campaign $19,000 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $45,000 One committee FEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2024 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $44,000 One committee FEC filing ↗
Jan 3, 2024 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 CHS-BSO JFC C00854794 $12,000 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 14, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $7,100 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 14, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $3,100 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 13, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $7,100 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 13, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $3,100 One committee FEC filing ↗
Nov 13, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 same campaign $4,800 One committee FEC filing ↗
Oct 31, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $31,000 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Oct 31, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $36,000 One committee FEC filing ↗
Oct 31, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 same campaign $4,800 One committee FEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $47,253 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $19,797 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027 same campaign $52,864 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $30,805 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2023 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND C00571596 NRSC C00027466 $32,459 One committee FEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2023 DAINES MONTANA VICTORY COMMITTEE C00506865 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $6,483 Both committees FEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2023 DAINES MONTANA VICTORY COMMITTEE C00506865 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA C00491357 same campaign $3,363 Both committees FEC filing ↗

Associated leadership PAC

BIG SKY OPPORTUNITY PAC C00542027

This is not Steve Daines's campaign committee. A leadership PAC is a separate committee that a candidate or officeholder establishes to support other candidates. It raises its own money, files its own reports, and gives in its own name. None of the money below is money Steve Daines's campaign raised, and none of it is included in any campaign total on this page.

The FEC's committee record names Steve Daines as the sponsoring candidate or officeholder. This is not their campaign committee.

What committee C00542027 reported for the 2024 cycle
Measure Amount
Receipts this committee reported$1,507,448
Disbursements this committee reported$1,293,161
Cash on hand at the end of its latest report$558,417
Contributions to candidates $175,00020 candidates MyRepTracker covers

Figures cover this committee's filings through Dec 31, 2024. Every candidate this committee reached → · Its filings at the FEC ↗ · Its FEC record ↗

Filings behind these figures

Every amount on this page was reported on a filing. These are those filings. 29 of 31 are in force for the 2024 cycle; the other 2 were replaced by a later version and are kept here so the correction history stays readable. A superseded filing contributes to no total, ranking, or comparison anywhere on this site.

Clear

All 31 filings shown

Filings for the 2024 cycle, newest coverage period first
Filing Coverage Filed Version Document
Committee report (Form 3X) YEAR-END 2024 · filing 1870388 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Nov 26, 2024 to Dec 31, 2024 Jan 31, 2025 In force At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) YEAR-END 2024 · filing 1870016 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Oct 1, 2024 to Dec 31, 2024 Jan 31, 2025 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) POST-GENERAL 2024 · filing 1857083 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Oct 17, 2024 to Nov 25, 2024 Dec 5, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) PRE-GENERAL 2024 · filing 1840791 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Oct 1, 2024 to Oct 16, 2024 Oct 24, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) OCTOBER QUARTERLY 2024 · filing 1828430 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Jul 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2024 Oct 15, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) OCTOBER QUARTERLY 2024 · filing 1827760 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Jul 1, 2024 to Sep 30, 2024 Oct 15, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) JULY QUARTERLY 2024 · filing 1859974 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Apr 1, 2024 to Jun 30, 2024 Dec 13, 2024 In force, and itself an amendment amendment 1 At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) JULY QUARTERLY 2024 · filing 1801118 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Apr 1, 2024 to Jun 30, 2024 Jul 15, 2024 Superseded by filing 1859974 Counted toward nothing on this site. At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) JULY QUARTERLY 2024 · filing 1800490 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Apr 1, 2024 to Jun 30, 2024 Jul 15, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2024 · filing 1775066 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Jan 1, 2024 to Mar 31, 2024 Apr 15, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) APRIL QUARTERLY 2024 · filing 1774534 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Jan 1, 2024 to Mar 31, 2024 Apr 15, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) YEAR-END 2023 · filing 1751736 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Oct 1, 2023 to Dec 31, 2023 Jan 31, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) YEAR-END 2023 · filing 1748401 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Oct 1, 2023 to Dec 31, 2023 Jan 30, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) OCTOBER QUARTERLY 2023 · filing 1730165 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Jul 1, 2023 to Sep 30, 2023 Oct 13, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) OCTOBER QUARTERLY 2023 · filing 1730019 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Jul 1, 2023 to Sep 30, 2023 Oct 13, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) TERMINATION REPORT 2023 · filing 1728326 DAINES VICTORY COMMITTEE Jul 1, 2023 to Sep 30, 2023 Oct 9, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) JULY QUARTERLY 2023 · filing 1713288 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Apr 1, 2023 to Jun 30, 2023 Jul 14, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) JULY QUARTERLY 2023 · filing 1713229 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Apr 1, 2023 to Jun 30, 2023 Jul 14, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) JULY QUARTERLY 2023 · filing 1710599 DAINES VICTORY COMMITTEE Apr 1, 2023 to Jun 30, 2023 Jul 10, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2023 · filing 1699764 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA Jan 1, 2023 to Mar 31, 2023 Apr 15, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) APRIL QUARTERLY 2023 · filing 1699513 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND Jan 1, 2023 to Mar 31, 2023 Apr 15, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) TERMINATION REPORT 2023 · filing 1699506 DAINES MONTANA VICTORY COMMITTEE Jan 1, 2023 to Mar 31, 2023 Apr 15, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Committee report (Form 3X) APRIL QUARTERLY 2023 · filing 1696899 DAINES VICTORY COMMITTEE Jan 1, 2023 to Mar 31, 2023 Apr 10, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) filing 1859638 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA No coverage period reported Dec 9, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
Statement of organization (Form 1) filing 1849302 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND No coverage period reported Nov 20, 2024 In force, and itself an amendment amendment 7 At the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) filing 1792469 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA No coverage period reported Jun 26, 2024 In force At the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) no file number published DAINES VICTORY COMMITTEE No coverage period reported Oct 26, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) no file number published DAINES MONTANA VICTORY COMMITTEE No coverage period reported May 2, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) filing 1701263 DAINES SENATE MAJORITY FUND No coverage period reported Apr 19, 2023 In force At the FEC ↗
Statement of organization (Form 1) filing 1700746 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA No coverage period reported Apr 18, 2023 In force, and itself an amendment amendment 34 At the FEC ↗
Statement of organization (Form 1) filing 1698908 STEVE DAINES FOR MONTANA No coverage period reported Apr 14, 2023 Superseded by filing 1700746 amendment 33 Counted toward nothing on this site. At the FEC ↗

What the FEC asked about these filings

6 requests for additional information were sent about the 2024 cycle's filings. These are routine correspondence between the FEC and committees, they say nothing about whether anything was wrong, and no amount, ranking, or comparison on this site is affected by them.

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the YEAR-END 2024 report (filing 1870016), covering Oct 1, 2024 to Dec 31, 2024, on Apr 10, 2025. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the JULY QUARTERLY 2024 report (filing 1801118), covering Apr 1, 2024 to Jun 30, 2024, on Oct 29, 2024. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on Dec 13, 2024 (filing 1859974). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the APRIL QUARTERLY 2024 report (filing 1775066), covering Jan 1, 2024 to Mar 31, 2024, on May 21, 2024. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the Q2 2023 report, covering Apr 1, 2023 to Jun 30, 2023, on Jul 31, 2023. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

FEC request type 7, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about a filing, on Jul 24, 2023. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

FEC request type 1, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the Q1 2023 report, covering Jan 1, 2023 to Mar 31, 2023, on May 3, 2023. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

FEC request type 7, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Cycles 2022 through 2026

Every cycle stored for Steve Daines is included, with no gaps between 2022 and 2026. This is not a lifetime total. Campaign finance here is keyed to the FEC records for the offices Steve Daines has held, so money raised for an office they ran for and did not win is not part of it.

Combined totals across stored cycles
Measure Amount
Total receipts$8,355,271
Individual contributions$2,971,221
PAC and other committee contributions$2,444,875
Total spending$5,848,916

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2024 two-year cycle only. Use the cycle links above to change it; the combined section further up covers several cycles at once.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.