Home › California › Elections 2026 › John Garamendi

John Garamendi

Democratic candidate · 2026 general election · California

Photo of John Garamendi

John Garamendi

Democratic

Currently serving in the U.S. House District 8.

Races

Campaign finance

FEC data through Jun 30, 2026. Covering the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Every stored cycle for John Garamendi is on their legislator profile →

The 2026 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$489,135
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$154,593
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$334,500
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$557,834
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$1,196,018
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $489,135 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2026 cycle
Source Amount Share of receipts
Individual contributions $154,593 31.6%
PAC and other committee contributions $334,500 68.4%
Party committee contributions $0 0.0%
Candidate self-funding $0 0.0%
Loans $0 0.0%
Other receipts, including transfers $42 0.0%
Total receipts $489,135 100%

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Jun 30, 2026 for the 2026 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2026 cycle
Measure Amount
Cash on hand at coverage end $1,196,018
Debts and obligations owed by the committee $0
Debts and obligations owed to the committee Not reported
Contributions refunded to individuals $3
Contributions refunded to committees $5,000
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising. $0
Transfers made to other authorized committees $0
Repayments of candidate loans $0
Repayments of other loans $0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
Measure Amount How it was produced
Contributions net of refunds $484,089 Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsets Not reported An input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans $0 Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans $0 Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded $5,003 Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00462697, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what 12P 2026 reported and what Q2 2026 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. 12P 2026 reported through May 13, 2026 and Q2 2026 through Jun 30, 2026.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00462697
Measure 12P 2026Reported through May 13, 2026 Q2 2026Reported through Jun 30, 2026 Change
Cash on hand at period end $1,266,228 $1,196,018 Down $70,210
Debts owed by the committee $0 $0 No change
Contribution refunds in the period $5,000 $3 Down $4,997

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $1,196,018 set beside the $118,149 this campaign spent during Q2 2026, through Jun 30, 2026, which is 10.1 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by John Garamendi. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

Spent opposing

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

What the money was spent on

These categories divide $331,598 of itemized spending across 237 transactions, through Jun 29, 2026. That subtotal covers the FEC's published operating-expenditure records, which do not include transfers, loan repayments, refunds, or contributions the campaign made, and is 59.4% of the $557,834 in total disbursements reported for the 2026 cycle. Every share below is a share of that subtotal and never of total spending. Purposes were classified under taxonomy spend-1.3.

Two things separate that subtotal from total disbursements. Spending reported without itemization cannot be categorized. And the itemized records run only to Jun 29, 2026, while the totals above cover through Jun 30, 2026, so the last stretch of the reporting period is summarized but not yet broken down here.

Itemized spending by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Unclassified filing descriptions Spending whose reported purpose could not be placed in the taxonomy. It is counted, not guessed at. $185,614 56.0% 111
Campaign materials $42,085 12.7% 6
Administration, salary, and overhead $31,775 9.6% 78
Technology and digital services $31,712 9.6% 14
Legal, accounting, and compliance $23,179 7.0% 20
Fundraising and solicitation $15,859 4.8% 6
Events $960 0.3% 1
Travel $413 0.1% 1
Classified $145,983 44.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions $185,614 56.0%
Itemized spending categorized here $331,598 100% 237

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

Top 50 of 102 shown $352,000 total · $278,500 shown here

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Sep 20, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF BOILERMAKERS CAMPAIGN ASSISTANCE FUND C00005157 $10,000 2.8% 2 May 22, 2026
2 TRANSPORT WORKERS UNION OF AMERICA POLITICAL CONTRIBUTIONS COMMITTEE C00008268 $10,000 2.8% 2 Feb 17, 2026
3 MATSON, INC. FEDERAL ELECTION COMMITTEE C00024752 $10,000 2.8% 2 Feb 12, 2026
4 D.R.I.V.E. - DEM, REP, IND VOTER ED (THE PAC OF THE INT'L BRHD OF TEAMSTERS) C00032979 $10,000 2.8% 2 May 5, 2026
5 AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION PAC C00035451 $10,000 2.8% 4 May 1, 2026
6 BALL CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00039461 $10,000 2.8% 2 Apr 16, 2026
7 AMERICAN CRYSTAL SUGAR COMPANY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00110338 $10,000 2.8% 2 Jul 7, 2025
8 ALLIED PILOTS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00267849 $10,000 2.8% 3 Jun 26, 2026
9 FAIRBANKS MORSE, LLC POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00743435 $10,000 2.8% 2 Mar 23, 2026
10 GENERAL DYNAMICS CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (GENERAL DYNAMICS EMPLOYEE PAC) C00078451 $8,000 2.3% 4 Jun 17, 2026
11 AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (AAJ PAC) C00024521 $7,500 2.1% 5 Mar 18, 2026
12 AMERICA'S CREDIT UNIONS PAC C00007880 $7,000 2.0% 3 Feb 26, 2026
13 AMERICAN MARITIME OFFICERS VOLUNTARY POLITICAL ACTION FUND C00027532 $7,000 2.0% 5 Feb 2, 2026
14 EDISON INTERNATIONAL PAC C00019653 $6,000 1.7% 4 Jun 17, 2026
15 AMERICAN WATERWAYS OPERATORS-PAC C00034678 $5,500 1.6% 4 Jun 23, 2026
16 SALTCHUK RESOURCES, INC. PAC C00411694 $5,500 1.6% 4 Mar 16, 2026
17 CARPENTERS LEGISLATIVE IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS C00001016 $5,000 1.4% 1 Dec 17, 2025
18 SMART TD PAC C00001636 $5,000 1.4% 3 Feb 12, 2026
19 MACHINISTS NON PARTISAN POLITICAL LEAGUE OF THE INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS & AEROSPACE WORKERS C00002469 $5,000 1.4% 1 Apr 23, 2025
20 SEAFARERS POLITICAL ACTIVITY DONATION - SEAFARERS INTERNATIONAL UNION OF NA-AGLIW C00004325 $5,000 1.4% 1 Feb 4, 2026
21 INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SHEET METAL, AIR, RAIL AND TRANSPORTATION WORKERS POLITICAL ACTION LEAGUE C00007542 $5,000 1.4% 1 Feb 9, 2026
22 LABORERS' INTERNATIONAL UNION OF NORTH AMERICA (LIUNA) PAC C00007922 $5,000 1.4% 1 May 19, 2026
23 AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE COUNTY & MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES P E O P L E C00011114 $5,000 1.4% 2 Mar 20, 2026
24 AMERICAN FEDERATION OF TEACHERS, AFL-CIO COMMITTEE ON POLITICAL EDUCATION C00028860 $5,000 1.4% 2 Jun 18, 2026
25 NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00030718 $5,000 1.4% 3 Mar 5, 2026
26 AMALGAMATED TRANSIT UNION - COPE C00032995 $5,000 1.4% 2 Jan 21, 2026
27 MASTERS, MATES AND PILOTS POLITICAL CONTRIBUTION FUND C00073056 $5,000 1.4% 2 Feb 3, 2026
28 HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. TECHNOLOGIES PUBLIC AFFAIRS COUNCIL (HONPAC) C00096156 $5,000 1.4% 1 Jun 18, 2025
29 EMPLOYEES OF RTX CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00097568 $5,000 1.4% 2 Dec 10, 2025
30 NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00113811 $5,000 1.4% 1 Sep 18, 2025
31 NATIONAL MULTIFAMILY HOUSING COUNCIL AND REAL ESTATE TECHNOLOGY AND TRANSFORMATION CENTER POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (NMHC PAC) C00130773 $5,000 1.4% 3 May 27, 2026
32 DISTRICT NO. 1-PCD, MARINE ENGINEERS' BENEFICIAL ASSOC. - POLITICAL ACTION FUND (MEBA-PAF) C00279380 $5,000 1.4% 2 Feb 18, 2026
33 UNITED ASSOCIATION OF JOURNEYMEN & APPRENTICES OF THE U.S. & CANADA LOCAL 447 FEDERAL PAC C00320218 $5,000 1.4% 1 Apr 30, 2026
34 GRANITE CONSTRUCTION INC. EMPLOYEE PAC - GRANITEPAC C00337394 $5,000 1.4% 2 Jul 2, 2025
35 NUCOR CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00379628 $5,000 1.4% 4 Jun 30, 2026
36 AAR CORP. PAC C00625921 $5,000 1.4% 2 Jun 15, 2026
37 NEA FUND FOR CHILDREN AND PUBLIC EDUCATION C00003251 $4,000 1.1% 2 May 27, 2026
38 UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC. PAC (UPSPAC) C00064766 $3,500 1.0% 2 Jun 15, 2026
39 NATIONAL BEER WHOLESALERS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00144766 $3,500 1.0% 2 May 14, 2026
40 PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS IN CALIFORNIA GOVERNMENT FEDERAL PAC (PECG FED-PAC) C00459800 $3,500 1.0% 2 May 8, 2026
41 NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION AMERICA'S ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES PAC C00002972 $3,000 0.9% 2 Jul 15, 2025
42 BLUE DIAMOND GROWERS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00080135 $3,000 0.9% 3 Jan 21, 2026
43 AMERICAN SUGAR CANE LEAGUE OF USA, INC PAC C00081414 $3,000 0.9% 1 Jun 27, 2025
44 LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION EMPLOYEES' POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00303024 $3,000 0.9% 3 Feb 23, 2026
45 HERZOG PAC C00391979 $3,000 0.9% 3 Jun 8, 2026
46 INTERNATIONAL UNION OF PAINTERS AND ALLIED TRADES POLITICAL ACTION TOGETHER POLITICAL COMMITTEE C00000885 $2,500 0.7% 1 Jun 17, 2025
47 BUILD POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF HOME BUILDERS (BUILDPAC) C00000901 $2,500 0.7% 1 Sep 30, 2025
48 SEIU COPE (SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION COMMITTEE ON POLITICAL EDUCATION) C00004036 $2,500 0.7% 1 Dec 9, 2025
49 ENGINEERS POLITICAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE (EPEC)/INTERNATIONAL UNION OF OPERATING ENGINEERS C00029504 $2,500 0.7% 1 Mar 11, 2026
50 AMERICAN PILOTS' ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00041061 $2,500 0.7% 1 Jan 30, 2026
Showing 1 to 50 of 102 committees
1 2 3 Next

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2026 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to John Garamendi

Committees itemized $352,000 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Labor union PACs $139,000 39.5% 29 51
Corporate PACs $107,250 30.5% 37 63
Trade association PACs $43,500 12.4% 15 24
Membership organization PACs $23,000 6.5% 7 16
Cooperative PACs $18,500 5.3% 5 9
Non-connected committees $10,750 3.1% 8 9
Corporations without capital stock $10,000 2.8% 1 2
Itemized total for this direction $352,000

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to John Garamendi

Committees itemized $352,000 in contributions to this campaign. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $269,000 and committees not yet categorized account for $83,000.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Transportation unions Labor $59,000 16.8% 10 21
Defense Defense $28,000 8.0% 10 16
Industrial unions Labor $23,500 6.7% 5 6
Air transport Transportation $23,000 6.5% 6 11
Construction Construction $20,000 5.7% 8 9
Public sector unions Labor $17,500 5.0% 5 8
Food and beverage Agriculture $16,000 4.5% 3 6
Building trades unions Labor $15,000 4.3% 4 4
Electric utilities Energy and natural resources $12,000 3.4% 4 9
Agribusiness Agriculture $11,000 3.1% 6 8
Real estate Finance, insurance, and real estate $11,000 3.1% 3 7
Lawyers and law firms Professional services $9,500 2.7% 2 7
Credit unions Finance, insurance, and real estate $7,000 2.0% 1 3
Mining Energy and natural resources $5,500 1.6% 1 4
Trucking Transportation $3,500 1.0% 1 2
Telecommunications Communications and technology $3,000 0.9% 2 2
Technology Communications and technology $2,500 0.7% 1 2
Physicians and medical specialties Health $2,000 0.6% 1 2
Committees not yet categorized $83,000 23.6% 29 47
Base the shares are taken over $352,000 100%
Itemized total for this direction $352,000

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

Reported on notices

$6,000
Across 2 notices, received May 18, 2026 to May 20, 2026

Still only provisional

$0
Every notice is now covered by a regular report

The most recent notice was filed on May 22, 2026. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in John Garamendi's reported totals through the ordinary schedule.

48-hour notices filed for the 2026 cycle, newest first
Filed Amount Entries Covers State Filing
May 22, 2026 $1,500 1 May 20 to May 20, 2026 Covered by a regular report FEC filing ↗
May 20, 2026 $4,500 3 May 18 to May 19, 2026 Covered by a regular report FEC filing ↗

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $146,908 of the $154,593 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 144 itemized contributions.

From California

$115,100
78.3% of the itemized money that has a place

From everywhere else

$31,808
21.7% of the itemized money that has a place

Money from outside California is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2026 cycle
Kind of place Amount Contributions Share
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia. $146,908 144 100.0%

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 11 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • California this campaign's state $115,100
  • District of Columbia $8,425
  • Texas $6,783
  • Virginia $4,850
  • Tennessee $3,500
  • Florida $2,500
  • Maryland $2,500
  • New York $1,500
  • Washington $1,000
  • Pennsylvania $500
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2026 cycle
Place Amount Contributions Share
California this campaign's state $115,100 105 78.3%
District of Columbia $8,425 14 5.7%
Texas $6,783 3 4.6%
Virginia $4,850 8 3.3%
Tennessee $3,500 1 2.4%
Florida $2,500 2 1.7%
Maryland $2,500 5 1.7%
New York $1,500 2 1.0%
Washington $1,000 2 0.7%
Pennsylvania $500 1 0.3%
Kentucky $250 1 0.2%
Reported with a place $146,908 144 100%

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in California, 2026 cycle: 287 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $489,135
  • Cohort median $58,784
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in California, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $489,135
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$10,048
Median$58,784
75th percentile$819,662
Highest in the cohort$13,761,491
Campaigns counted 287

197 of the 287 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 69th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 68.4%
  • Cohort median 0.0%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in California, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign 68.4%
Lowest in the cohort-0.1%
25th percentile0.0%
Median0.0%
75th percentile10.3%
Highest in the cohort77.6%
Campaigns counted 266

262 of the 266 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 98th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $1,196,018
  • Cohort median $4,558
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in California, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $1,196,018
Lowest in the cohort-$16,866
25th percentile$19
Median$4,558
75th percentile$154,503
Highest in the cohort$16,929,752
Campaigns counted 287

257 of the 287 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 90th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in California, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$4,286,570
Campaigns counted 287

0 of the 287 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in California, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$6,186,075
Campaigns counted 287

0 of the 287 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.