Home › Georgia › Elections 2026 › John Cowan

John Cowan

Republican candidate · 2026 general election · Georgia

JC

John Cowan

Republican

Races

Campaign finance

FEC data through Jun 30, 2026. Covering the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Possibly out of date. last refreshed 2026-08-26

The 2026 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$2,347,796
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$464,918
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$120,000
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$2,330,167
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$17,630
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $2,347,796 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2026 cycle
Source Amount Share of receipts
Individual contributions $464,918 19.8%
PAC and other committee contributions $120,000 5.1%
Party committee contributions $0 0.0%
Candidate self-funding $0 0.0%
Loans $1,750,020 74.5%
Other receipts, including transfers $12,858 0.5%
Total receipts $2,347,796 100%

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Jun 30, 2026 for the 2026 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2026 cycle
Measure Amount
Cash on hand at coverage end $17,630
Debts and obligations owed by the committee $1,774,962
Debts and obligations owed to the committee Not reported
Contributions refunded to individuals $1,500
Contributions refunded to committees $0
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising. $12,833
Transfers made to other authorized committees $0
Repayments of candidate loans $20
Repayments of other loans $0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
Measure Amount How it was produced
Contributions net of refunds $583,418 Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsets Not reported An input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans $1,750,000 Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans $0 Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded $1,500 Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00938175, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what 12R 2026 reported and what Q2 2026 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. 12R 2026 reported through May 27, 2026 and Q2 2026 through Jun 30, 2026.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00938175
Measure 12R 2026Reported through May 27, 2026 Q2 2026Reported through Jun 30, 2026 Change
Cash on hand at period end $207,288 $17,630 Down $189,658
Debts owed by the committee $1,650,000 $1,774,962 Up $124,962
Contribution refunds in the period $0 $0 No change

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $17,630 set beside the $391,570 this campaign spent during Q2 2026, through Jun 30, 2026, which is 0.0 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by John Cowan. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$526,064
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

Spent opposing

$40,096
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

What the money was spent on

These categories divide $2,324,920 of itemized spending across 184 transactions, through Jun 30, 2026. That subtotal covers the FEC's published operating-expenditure records, which do not include transfers, loan repayments, refunds, or contributions the campaign made, and is 99.8% of the $2,330,167 in total disbursements reported for the 2026 cycle. Every share below is a share of that subtotal and never of total spending. Purposes were classified under taxonomy spend-1.3.

The difference between that subtotal and total disbursements is spending reported without itemization, which cannot be categorized.

Itemized spending by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Advertising and media $1,610,076 69.3% 15
Polling and research $354,327 15.2% 13
Unclassified filing descriptions Spending whose reported purpose could not be placed in the taxonomy. It is counted, not guessed at. $145,677 6.3% 102
Fundraising and solicitation $114,238 4.9% 7
Consulting, type not specified $73,515 3.2% 30
Administration, salary, and overhead $9,537 0.4% 2
Legal, accounting, and compliance $8,109 0.3% 4
Technology and digital services $3,600 0.2% 2
Events $3,277 0.1% 5
Travel $2,563 0.1% 4
Classified $2,179,243 93.7%
Unclassified filing descriptions $145,677 6.3%
Itemized spending categorized here $2,324,920 100% 184

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

All 18 shown $92,500 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 23, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF NEUROLOGICAL SURGEONS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (NEUROSURGERYPAC) C00413955 $15,000 16.2% 3 May 14, 2026
2 POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ORTHOPAEDIC SURGEONS--PAC OF AAOS C00343137 $12,500 13.5% 4 Jun 30, 2026
3 NATIONAL EMERGENCY MEDICINE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE / AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS C00140061 $10,000 10.8% 4 Jun 10, 2026
4 AMERICAN SOCIETY OF ANESTHESIOLOGISTS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (ASA PAC) C00255752 $10,000 10.8% 2 Jun 4, 2026
5 AMERICAN ACADEMY OF DERMATOLOGY ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (SKINPAC) C00359539 $5,000 5.4% 1 Apr 9, 2026
6 AMERICAN COLLEGE OF SURGEONS PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION PAC C00382424 $5,000 5.4% 1 May 26, 2026
7 AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (FAMMEDPAC) C00411553 $5,000 5.4% 1 Jun 11, 2026
8 AMERICAN REVIVAL PAC C00639229 $5,000 5.4% 1 Jun 24, 2026
9 RAPTOR PAC C00749481 $5,000 5.4% 1 Jun 22, 2026
10 SPINE PAC OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SPINE SPECIALISTS C00349225 $3,500 3.8% 1 Jun 8, 2026
11 PATRIOT FUND C00497818 $3,500 3.8% 1 Apr 3, 2026
12 OLD BREED PAC C00819425 $3,500 3.8% 1 May 21, 2026
13 AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00373696 $2,500 2.7% 1 Jun 1, 2026
14 AMERICAN ACADEMY OF NEUROLOGY BRAINPAC C00435933 $2,500 2.7% 1 Jun 3, 2026
15 MIKE KENNEDY FOR UTAH C00864488 $2,000 2.2% 1 Jun 19, 2026
16 COLLEGE OF AMERICAN PATHOLOGISTS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00274944 $1,000 1.1% 1 May 18, 2026
17 GRASSROOTS ORGANIZING FOR BETTER ELECTION RESULTS PAC C00923938 $1,000 1.1% 1 Jun 18, 2026
18 BOSTON SCIENTIFIC CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (BSC PAC) C00357863 $500 0.5% 1 Jun 3, 2026

Organizations spending independently

Supporting John Cowan

All 3 shown $526,064 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 23, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Organizations ranked by independent spending supporting this candidate
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 DEFENDING OUR VALUES PAC C00928390 $501,840 95.4% 5 Jun 15, 2026
2 HEALTHCARE FREEDOM SUPER PAC C00798009 $15,087 2.9% 1 May 11, 2026
3 American Values First C00654764 $9,138 1.7% 2 May 20, 2026

Opposing John Cowan

All 2 shown $40,096 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 23, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Organizations ranked by independent spending opposing this candidate
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 Tea Party Patriots Citizens Fund C00540898 $22,514 56.2% 3 Jun 8, 2026
2 GEORGIANS FOR COMMON SENSE C00943316 $17,582 43.8% 5 Jun 15, 2026

What that outside spending purchased

Each independent expenditure carries a short description the spending committee wrote, and these categories are those descriptions sorted under taxonomy outside-1.0. Spending supporting John Cowan and spending opposing them are broken down separately and never combined, and every share below is a share of that one direction's total.

The largest category is usually "Advertising, medium not specified". That is not a leftover: it is spending the committee described only as a media buy or as advertising, without saying whether it aired on television, ran online, or arrived in the mail. MyRepTracker reports what was filed rather than assigning it a medium.

Supporting John Cowan

Independent spending supporting this candidate, by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Direct mail $212,814 40.5% 2
Digital and online advertising $199,962 38.0% 2
Broadcast, cable, and radio advertising $104,150 19.8% 2
Phone calls and text messages $9,138 1.7% 2
Classified $526,064 100.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions $0 0.0%
Total independent spending $526,064 100% 8

Opposing John Cowan

Independent spending opposing this candidate, by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Advertising, medium not specified Reported as a media buy or as advertising, with no medium named. $22,514 56.2% 3
Phone calls and text messages $17,582 43.8% 5
Classified $40,096 100.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions $0 0.0%
Total independent spending $40,096 100% 8

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2026 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to John Cowan

Committees itemized $92,500 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Trade association PACs $43,500 47.0% 7 10
Membership organization PACs $23,500 25.4% 3 9
Non-connected committees $10,000 10.8% 2 2
Leadership PACs $9,500 10.3% 3 3
Other candidates' committees $5,500 5.9% 2 2
Corporate PACs $500 0.5% 1 1
Itemized total for this direction $92,500

Spent supporting John Cowan

Committees itemized $526,064 in independent spending supporting John Cowan.

Independent spenders supporting this candidate, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Non-connected committees $526,064 100.0% 3 8
Itemized total for this direction $526,064

Spent opposing John Cowan

Committees itemized $40,096 in independent spending opposing John Cowan.

Independent spenders opposing this candidate, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Non-connected committees $40,096 100.0% 2 8
Itemized total for this direction $40,096

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to John Cowan

Committees itemized $92,500 in contributions to this campaign. $15,000 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $77,500, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $72,000 and committees not yet categorized account for $5,500.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Physicians and medical specialties Health $72,000 92.9% 11 20
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $15,000 Not applicable 5 5
Committees not yet categorized $5,500 7.1% 2 2
Base the shares are taken over $77,500 100%
Itemized total for this direction $92,500

Spent supporting John Cowan

Committees itemized $526,064 in independent spending supporting John Cowan. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $501,840 and committees not yet categorized account for $24,225.

Independent spenders supporting this candidate, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Pro-Republican Party Ideological and single-issue $501,840 95.4% 1 5
Committees not yet categorized $24,225 4.6% 2 3
Base the shares are taken over $526,064 100%
Itemized total for this direction $526,064

Spent opposing John Cowan

Committees itemized $40,096 in independent spending opposing John Cowan. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $0 and committees not yet categorized account for $40,096.

Independent spenders opposing this candidate, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Committees not yet categorized $40,096 100.0% 2 8
Base the shares are taken over $40,096 100%
Itemized total for this direction $40,096

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

No Form 6 notices were found for the 2026 cycle. Notices are only required in the 20 days before an election, so none is the usual state outside that window.

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $447,648 of the $477,751 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 398 itemized contributions.

From Georgia

$290,067
64.8% of the itemized money that has a place

From everywhere else

$157,581
35.2% of the itemized money that has a place

Money from outside Georgia is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2026 cycle
Kind of place Amount Contributions Share
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia. $447,648 398 100.0%

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 28 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • Georgia this campaign's state $290,067
  • Florida $29,440
  • California $15,266
  • Indiana $15,165
  • North Carolina $12,204
  • Tennessee $11,848
  • Illinois $9,541
  • Texas $9,197
  • New York $8,000
  • Pennsylvania $7,000
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2026 cycle
Place Amount Contributions Share
Georgia this campaign's state $290,067 263 64.8%
Florida $29,440 27 6.6%
California $15,266 11 3.4%
Indiana $15,165 11 3.4%
North Carolina $12,204 11 2.7%
Tennessee $11,848 9 2.6%
Illinois $9,541 5 2.1%
Texas $9,197 5 2.1%
New York $8,000 4 1.8%
Pennsylvania $7,000 2 1.6%
Connecticut $4,581 4 1.0%
South Carolina $4,403 6 1.0%
Virginia $4,331 7 1.0%
Washington $3,750 2 0.8%
Missouri $3,500 1 0.8%
District of Columbia $3,332 4 0.7%
Alabama $3,050 5 0.7%
Michigan $2,291 3 0.5%
Arizona $2,082 2 0.5%
New Jersey $1,540 3 0.3%
Minnesota $1,520 2 0.3%
Ohio $1,020 2 0.2%
Colorado $1,000 1 0.2%
Kentucky $1,000 1 0.2%
Wisconsin $1,000 1 0.2%
Mississippi $520 1 0.1%
Maryland $500 4 0.1%
Oklahoma $500 1 0.1%
Reported with a place $447,648 398 100%

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in Georgia, 2026 cycle: 105 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $2,347,796
  • Cohort median $50,997
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Georgia, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $2,347,796
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$16,075
Median$50,997
75th percentile$402,315
Highest in the cohort$8,098,514
Campaigns counted 105

101 of the 105 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 96th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 5.1%
  • Cohort median 0.0%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Georgia, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign 5.1%
Lowest in the cohort0.0%
25th percentile0.0%
Median0.0%
75th percentile3.4%
Highest in the cohort78.7%
Campaigns counted 100

77 of the 100 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 77th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $17,630
  • Cohort median $1,312
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Georgia, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $17,630
Lowest in the cohort-$22,836
25th percentile$0
Median$1,312
75th percentile$18,230
Highest in the cohort$2,038,360
Campaigns counted 105

77 of the 105 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 73th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $526,064
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Georgia, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $526,064
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$4,218,293
Campaigns counted 105

100 of the 105 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 95th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $40,096
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Georgia, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $40,096
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$445,639
Campaigns counted 105

100 of the 105 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 95th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.