Photo of John J. McGuire III
R United States House · District 5 · Virginia On the 2026 ballot

Rep. John J. McGuire III

Compare
Total votes
650
all sessions
Attendance
98%
11 missed
Near the chamber average
With party
93%
of cast votes
Lower than 84% of chamber peers
Bipartisan score
3%
crosses aisle rarely
Higher than 83% of chamber peers
Sponsored
322
bills & resolutions
Near the chamber average
Committees
7
assignments
Federal Election Commission filings

Campaign finance

FEC data through Jul 15, 2026. Covering the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Compare cycles

Each column is one cycle through its own coverage date. The active cycle is still accumulating activity; closed cycles are historical records. No percentage change is calculated between unequal reporting windows. Outside spending is separated from campaign activity because it was never received or controlled by the campaign.

Recent campaign-finance totals by election cycle for John J. McGuire III
Measure2026 active cycle Through Jul 15, 2026 Cycle-to-date, not final2022 closed cycle Through Jun 30, 2022
Money received
Total receipts$1,781,840$262,011
Individuals$1,117,59862.7% of receipts$202,71177.4% of receipts
PACs and other committees$415,80123.3% of receipts$00.0% of receipts
Campaign activity
Campaign spending$1,291,713$262,011
Cash on hand$524,346$0
Debt owed$41,488$0
Contribution refunds$69,728$62,200
Independent spending: not campaign money
Outside support$0$0
Outside opposition$470,540$0

The 2026 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$1,781,840
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$1,117,598
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$415,801
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$1,291,713
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$524,346
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $1,781,840 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2026 cycle
SourceAmountShare of receipts
Individual contributions$1,117,59862.7%
PAC and other committee contributions$415,80123.3%
Party committee contributions$00.0%
Candidate self-funding$00.0%
Loans$00.0%
Other receipts, including transfers$248,44213.9%
Total receipts$1,781,840100%

Self-funding, loans, and cash

Reported factual values. They are not a judgement about how strong or healthy a campaign is.

Candidate self-funding, loans, and cash for the 2026 cycle
MeasureAmount
Candidate self-funding$0
Candidate loans$0
Other loans$0
Party committee contributions$0
Cash on hand at coverage end$524,346

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Jul 15, 2026 for the 2026 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2026 cycle
MeasureAmount
Cash on hand at coverage end$524,346
Debts and obligations owed by the committee$41,488
Debts and obligations owed to the committeeNot reported
Contributions refunded to individuals$40,863
Contributions refunded to committees$28,865
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising.$246,442
Transfers made to other authorized committees$0
Repayments of candidate loans$0
Repayments of other loans$0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
MeasureAmountHow it was produced
Contributions net of refunds$1,463,671Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsetsNot reportedAn input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans$0Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans$0Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded$69,728Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00856831, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what Q2 2026 reported and what 12P 2026 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. Q2 2026 reported through Jun 30, 2026 and 12P 2026 through Jul 15, 2026.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00856831
MeasureQ2 2026Reported through Jun 30, 202612P 2026Reported through Jul 15, 2026Change
Cash on hand at period end$565,185$524,346Down $40,839
Debts owed by the committee$41,488$41,488No change
Contribution refunds in the period$1,187$240Down $947

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $524,346 set beside the $75,708 this campaign spent during 12P 2026, through Jul 15, 2026, which is 6.9 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by John J. McGuire III. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

Spent opposing

$470,540
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

What the money was spent on

These categories divide $973,205 of itemized spending across 430 transactions, through Jul 15, 2026. That subtotal covers the FEC's published operating-expenditure records, which do not include transfers, loan repayments, refunds, or contributions the campaign made, and is 75.3% of the $1,291,713 in total disbursements reported for the 2026 cycle. Every share below is a share of that subtotal and never of total spending. Purposes were classified under taxonomy spend-1.3.

The difference between that subtotal and total disbursements is spending reported without itemization, which cannot be categorized.

Itemized spending by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
PurposeAmount% ShareTransactions
Fundraising and solicitation $524,40853.9%327
Administration, salary, and overhead $397,79640.9%92
Campaign materials $21,5212.2%3
Events $13,0701.3%4
Advertising and media $9,7501.0%2
Polling and research $6,0000.6%1
Travel $6590.1%1
Classified$973,205100.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions$00.0%
Itemized spending categorized here$973,205100%430

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

Top 5 of 62 shown $162,500 total · $39,000 shown here

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Sep 6, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
RankCommitteeAmountShareTransactionsLast activity
1SPACE EXPLORATION TECHNOLOGIES CORP. PAC C00411116$10,0006.2%2Feb 24, 2026
2ROAD TO FREEDOM CAMPAIGN COMMITTEE C00200865$8,5005.2%2Nov 18, 2025
3AMERICA'S MOUNTAIN PAC C00883413$8,5005.2%3Jun 18, 2026
4SHIFT5 POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00830570$7,0004.3%3Jun 18, 2026
5AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00077321$5,0003.1%2May 26, 2026
Show the complete list of 62 committees →

Organizations spending independently

Supporting John J. McGuire III

No supporting independent expenditures are reported for this cycle.

Opposing John J. McGuire III

All 2 shown $470,540 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Sep 6, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Organizations ranked by independent spending opposing this candidate
RankCommitteeAmountShareTransactionsLast activity
1Our Virginia C00934851$419,94989.2%10Sep 4, 2026
2RP PAC C00919944$50,59110.8%2Sep 2, 2026

What that outside spending purchased

Each independent expenditure carries a short description the spending committee wrote, and these categories are those descriptions sorted under taxonomy outside-1.0. Spending supporting John J. McGuire III and spending opposing them are broken down separately and never combined, and every share below is a share of that one direction's total.

The largest category is usually "Advertising, medium not specified". That is not a leftover: it is spending the committee described only as a media buy or as advertising, without saying whether it aired on television, ran online, or arrived in the mail. MyRepTracker reports what was filed rather than assigning it a medium.

Supporting John J. McGuire III

No independent expenditures in this direction are reported for this cycle.

Opposing John J. McGuire III

Independent spending opposing this candidate, by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
PurposeAmount% ShareTransactions
Digital and online advertising $234,84049.9%4
Direct mail $216,73046.1%6
Advertising, medium not specified Reported as a media buy or as advertising, with no medium named. $18,9704.0%2
Classified$470,540100.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions$00.0%
Total independent spending$470,540100%12

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2026 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to John J. McGuire III

Committees itemized $162,500 in contributions to this campaign.

This campaign's own reports put contributions from all political committees at $415,801, against the $162,500 itemized above. The two figures come from opposite sides of the same transactions and do not always agree. Every share below is of what MyRepTracker can add up, which is the itemized figure.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committeeAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Corporate PACs $61,00037.5%2341
Leadership PACs $45,00027.7%1316
Non-connected committees $20,00012.3%711
Trade association PACs $16,50010.2%912
Membership organization PACs $9,0005.5%46
Other candidates' committees $5,5003.4%44
Cooperative PACs $5,5003.4%22
Itemized total for this direction$162,500

Spent opposing John J. McGuire III

Committees itemized $470,540 in independent spending opposing John J. McGuire III.

Independent spenders opposing this candidate, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committeeAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Non-connected committees $470,540100.0%212
Itemized total for this direction$470,540

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to John J. McGuire III

Committees itemized $162,500 in contributions to this campaign. $50,500 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $112,000, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $69,500 and committees not yet categorized account for $42,500.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
InterestAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Defense Defense $17,00015.2%1016
Technology Communications and technology $11,0009.8%23
Construction Construction $9,0008.0%35
Agribusiness Agriculture $5,5004.9%45
Air transport Transportation $5,5004.9%25
Accounting Professional services $5,0004.5%12
Food and beverage Agriculture $5,0004.5%11
Pharmaceuticals Health $3,5003.1%12
Pro-Republican Party Ideological and single-issue $2,5002.2%11
Trucking Transportation $2,5002.2%11
Insurance Finance, insurance, and real estate $1,0000.9%11
Nurses and nursing specialties Health $1,0000.9%11
Oil and gas Energy and natural resources $1,0000.9%11
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $50,500Not applicable1720
Committees not yet categorized $42,50037.9%1628
Base the shares are taken over$112,000100%
Itemized total for this direction$162,500

Spent opposing John J. McGuire III

Committees itemized $470,540 in independent spending opposing John J. McGuire III. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $0 and committees not yet categorized account for $470,540.

Independent spenders opposing this candidate, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
InterestAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Committees not yet categorized $470,540100.0%212
Base the shares are taken over$470,540100%
Itemized total for this direction$470,540

Filing periods · MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA

Each row is one filing period as that committee reported it, not a running cycle total. Receipts, spending, and end-of-period cash are drawn on one shared scale, so no bar here uses a different axis from any other. Every row comes from the one filing in force for its period; the filing ledger below lists that filing and any earlier version it replaced.

Filing periods reported by MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA, FEC committee C00856831
PeriodReceiptsSpendingCash at endFiling
Q1 2025 through Mar 31, 2025 amended$231,720$22,981$235,958FEC filing ↗
Q2 2025 through Jun 30, 2025 amended$233,934$159,691$310,201FEC filing ↗
Q3 2025 through Sep 30, 2025 amended$169,822$252,917$227,107FEC filing ↗
YE 2025 through Dec 31, 2025 amended$195,661$108,392$314,375FEC filing ↗
Q1 2026 through Mar 31, 2026 amended$390,530$263,069$441,837FEC filing ↗
12P 2026 through May 27, 2026 amended$219,438$162,308$498,967FEC filing ↗
Q2 2026 through Jun 30, 2026 amended$264,559$198,342$565,185FEC filing ↗
12P 2026 through Jul 15, 2026 amended$34,869$75,708$524,346FEC filing ↗

Filing periods · MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEE

Each row is one filing period as that committee reported it, not a running cycle total. Receipts, spending, and end-of-period cash are drawn on one shared scale, so no bar here uses a different axis from any other. Every row comes from the one filing in force for its period; the filing ledger below lists that filing and any earlier version it replaced.

Filing periods reported by MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEE, FEC committee C00900118
PeriodReceiptsSpendingCash at endFiling
Q1 2025 through Mar 31, 2025 amended$41,306$0$48,306FEC filing ↗
TER 2025 through Jun 30, 2025$0$48,306$0FEC filing ↗

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

No Form 6 notices were found for the 2026 cycle. Notices are only required in the 20 days before an election, so none is the usual state outside that window.

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $735,539 of the $1,364,040 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 3,178 itemized contributions.

From Virginia

$251,684
34.2% of the itemized money that has a place

From everywhere else

$483,855
65.8% of the itemized money that has a place

Money from outside Virginia is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2026 cycle
Kind of placeAmountContributionsShare
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia.$735,5393,178100.0%

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 44 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • Virginia this campaign's state $251,684
  • Texas $128,337
  • California $88,211
  • Florida $58,010
  • New York $49,249
  • Michigan $21,406
  • Georgia $14,292
  • Massachusetts $12,238
  • Arizona $11,963
  • South Carolina $10,969
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2026 cycle
PlaceAmountContributionsShare
Virginia this campaign's state$251,68480634.2%
Texas$128,33738317.4%
California$88,21149412.0%
Florida$58,0102247.9%
New York$49,249766.7%
Michigan$21,406152.9%
Georgia$14,292871.9%
Massachusetts$12,238281.7%
Arizona$11,963491.6%
South Carolina$10,969291.5%
District of Columbia$9,290101.3%
Connecticut$9,261111.3%
Maryland$8,249221.1%
Tennessee$7,7672261.1%
North Carolina$7,674261.0%
Alabama$4,904260.7%
West Virginia$4,638170.6%
Indiana$4,507170.6%
Ohio$4,289280.6%
Illinois$4,0051240.5%
New Jersey$2,947210.4%
Nevada$2,826690.4%
Louisiana$2,529680.3%
Wyoming$2,00010.3%
New Mexico$1,898560.3%
Wisconsin$1,551490.2%
Nebraska$1,45040.2%
Washington$1,364150.2%
Pennsylvania$1,333180.2%
Minnesota$1,25350.2%
Colorado$1,037200.1%
Kansas$856450.1%
Missouri$768270.1%
Idaho$672340.1%
Utah$55640.1%
Arkansas$447180.1%
Maine$37680.1%
Kentucky$2043<0.1%
Oregon$1924<0.1%
Mississippi$1704<0.1%
New Hampshire$951<0.1%
Rhode Island$471<0.1%
South Dakota$161<0.1%
Oklahoma$94<0.1%
Reported with a place$735,5393,178100%

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2026 cycle: 96 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $1,781,840
  • Cohort median $86,817
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$1,781,840
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$16,897
Median$86,817
75th percentile$392,454
Highest in the cohort$12,355,664
Campaigns counted96

86 of the 96 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 90th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 23.3%
  • Cohort median 0.0%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign23.3%
Lowest in the cohort0.0%
25th percentile0.0%
Median0.0%
75th percentile4.8%
Highest in the cohort95.1%
Campaigns counted92

81 of the 92 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 88th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $524,346
  • Cohort median $5,042
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$524,346
Lowest in the cohort-$909
25th percentile$0
Median$5,042
75th percentile$78,690
Highest in the cohort$6,573,093
Campaigns counted96

82 of the 96 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 85th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$1,012,792
Campaigns counted96

0 of the 96 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $470,540
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$470,540
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$2,044,017
Campaigns counted96

94 of the 96 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 98th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

The committees around this campaign

The Federal Election Commission links several kinds of committee to one candidate, and they are not interchangeable. An authorized campaign committee is the campaign. A joint fundraising committee raises money for several participants at once and passes each a share. A leadership PAC is controlled by the member and is not their campaign at all. Every row below is labelled with the designation the FEC itself filed, and none is inferred from a committee's name.

FEC candidate records

The FEC keys a candidate ID to one office, so a member who has run for more than one holds more than one ID. Each keeps its own committees and its own totals, and this product never merges them into a single record.

FEC candidate records linked to John J. McGuire III
FEC candidate IDOfficeState and districtCycles with stored dataFEC record
H2VA07196HouseVA district 72022FEC ↗
H0VA07133HouseVA district 72026FEC ↗

Committees the FEC links to those records

Committees linked to John J. McGuire III's FEC candidate records, by designation
CommitteeWhat it isCycles linkedFEC record
MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831Authorized campaign committee P2026FEC ↗
MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEE C00900118Authorized campaign committee A2026FEC ↗
JOHN MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00793505Authorized campaign committee P2022 Not linked in the most recent cycle stored here. That is not the same as terminated.FEC ↗

What the records show changing

Each row is something the FEC's own filings state, in the cycle they state it. The FEC's published files carry no registration or termination dates, so these are cycles rather than days, and every row links to the record it came from.

Committee and candidate-record changes for John J. McGuire III, oldest first
CycleChangeWhat it meansSource
2022First cycle the FEC links JOHN MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA to this memberThe FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered.FEC ↗
2022Last cycle the FEC links JOHN MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA to this memberA committee absent from a later cycle's linkage is not necessarily terminated: it may have filed nothing, or the cycle may not be ingested. Its FEC record shows whether it filed a termination report.FEC ↗
2026First cycle the FEC links MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA to this memberThe FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered.FEC ↗
2026First cycle the FEC links MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEE to this memberThe FEC's candidate-committee linkage covers a cycle at a time and carries no registration date, so this is the first cycle the records place the committee with this member rather than the day it registered.FEC ↗

Transfers between committees

A transfer moves money that was already raised. When a joint fundraising committee sends a campaign its share, or a campaign shifts a balance between two of its own committees, the money was raised once and is being moved. It is never counted as money raised, here or in any total on this page.

Transfers in, as John J. McGuire III's own reports state them
$246,442
From authorized committees, in the FEC's summary for the 2026 cycle
Transfers out, as John J. McGuire III's own reports state them
$0
To authorized committees, in the same summary

Both committees file their own record of the same transfer, so the itemized rows below count each one once: 26 transfers, of which 16 were reported by both sides. Counting each filing separately would have added $225,239 that no one raised twice. These are the committees' own itemized filings and the summary figures above come from a different FEC file; the two routinely differ and neither is a correction of the other.

Itemized transfers, by direction, for the 2026 cycle
DirectionAmount
Into one of these committees from elsewhere$271,425
Out of one of these committees to elsewhere$3,500
Between two of these committees$0
Transfers involving John J. McGuire III's committees in the 2026 cycle, newest first
DateFromToAmountReported byFiling
Jun 30, 2026MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$11,725Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2026MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$990Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2026AMERICAN BATTLEGROUND FUND C00857649MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$7,308One committeeFEC filing ↗
Jun 8, 2026AMERICAN BATTLEGROUND FUND C00857649MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$7,308One committeeFEC filing ↗
May 27, 2026MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$146Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2026MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$10,313Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2026MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$6,604Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Mar 30, 2026AMERICAN BATTLEGROUND FUND C00857649MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$4,419One committeeFEC filing ↗
Mar 16, 2026AMERICAN BATTLEGROUND FUND C00857649MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$4,419One committeeFEC filing ↗
Dec 31, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$2,025Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Dec 31, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$675Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Dec 30, 2025AMERICAN BATTLEGROUND FUND C00857649MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$9,166One committeeFEC filing ↗
Dec 30, 2025AMERICAN BATTLEGROUND FUND C00857649MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$300One committeeFEC filing ↗
Dec 15, 2025AMERICAN BATTLEGROUND FUND C00857649MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$9,466One committeeFEC filing ↗
Sep 30, 2025MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831BOLD ACTION PAC C00904102$3,500One committeeFEC filing ↗
Sep 30, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$9,803Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Sep 30, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$4,734Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$45,907Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$25,190Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Jun 30, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$5,438Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Jun 20, 2025AMERICAN BATTLEGROUND FUND C00857649MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$2,800One committeeFEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$27,534Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$14,269Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$20,580Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Mar 31, 2025MCGUIRE VICTORY FUND C00856856MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEE C00900118$39,306Both committeesFEC filing ↗
Mar 25, 2025DUNCAN FOR CONGRESS C00229104MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIA C00856831$1,000One committeeFEC filing ↗

Filings behind these figures

Every amount on this page was reported on a filing. These are those filings. 25 of 42 are in force for the 2026 cycle; the other 17 were replaced by a later version and are kept here so the correction history stays readable. A superseded filing contributes to no total, ranking, or comparison anywhere on this site.

Clear

40 of 42 filings shown, from 42 matching this filter

Filings for the 2026 cycle, newest coverage period first
FilingCoverageFiledVersionDocument
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) PRE-PRIMARY 2026 · filing 2005722 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJul 1, 2026 to Jul 15, 2026Aug 11, 2026In force, and itself an amendment amendment 1At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) PRE-PRIMARY 2026 · filing 2001422 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJul 1, 2026 to Jul 15, 2026Jul 23, 2026Superseded by filing 2005722 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) JULY QUARTERLY 2026 · filing 2005715 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAMay 28, 2026 to Jun 30, 2026Aug 11, 2026In force, and itself an amendment amendment 1At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) JULY QUARTERLY 2026 · filing 1994942 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAMay 28, 2026 to Jun 30, 2026Jul 15, 2026Superseded by filing 2005715 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) PRE-PRIMARY 2026 · filing 2005712 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAApr 1, 2026 to May 27, 2026Aug 11, 2026In force, and itself an amendment amendment 2At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) PRE-PRIMARY 2026 · filing 1994899 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAApr 1, 2026 to May 27, 2026Jul 15, 2026Superseded by filing 2005712 amendment 1 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) PRE-PRIMARY 2026 · filing 1981056 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAApr 1, 2026 to May 27, 2026Jun 3, 2026Superseded by filing 2005712 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2026 · filing 2005708 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJan 1, 2026 to Mar 31, 2026Aug 11, 2026In force, and itself an amendment amendment 2At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2026 · filing 2005497 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJan 1, 2026 to Mar 31, 2026Aug 11, 2026Superseded by filing 2005708 amendment 1 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2026 · filing 1963119 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJan 1, 2026 to Mar 31, 2026Apr 15, 2026Superseded by filing 2005708 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) YEAR-END 2025 · filing 1978527 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAOct 1, 2025 to Dec 31, 2025May 21, 2026In force, and itself an amendment amendment 1At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) YEAR-END 2025 · filing 1943275 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAOct 1, 2025 to Dec 31, 2025Jan 31, 2026Superseded by filing 1978527 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) OCTOBER QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1943229 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJul 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2025Jan 31, 2026In force, and itself an amendment amendment 1At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) OCTOBER QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1921198 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJul 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2025Oct 15, 2025Superseded by filing 1943229 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) JULY QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1914188 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAApr 1, 2025 to Jun 30, 2025Sep 9, 2025In force, and itself an amendment amendment 1At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) TERMINATION REPORT 2025 · filing 1900450 MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEEApr 1, 2025 to Jun 30, 2025Jul 14, 2025In forceAt the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) JULY QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1900448 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAApr 1, 2025 to Jun 30, 2025Jul 14, 2025Superseded by filing 1914188 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1914184 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025Sep 9, 2025In force, and itself an amendment amendment 4At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1914042 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025Sep 7, 2025Superseded by filing 1914184 amendment 3 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1900449 MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEEJan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025Jul 14, 2025In force, and itself an amendment amendment 2At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1900447 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025Jul 14, 2025Superseded by filing 1914184 amendment 2 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1897304 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025Jun 26, 2025Superseded by filing 1914184 amendment 1 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1886448 MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEEJan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025Apr 15, 2025Superseded by filing 1900449 amendment 1 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1886436 MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEEJan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025Apr 15, 2025Superseded by filing 1900449 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
House or Senate campaign report (Form 3) APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 · filing 1886390 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIAJan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025Apr 15, 2025Superseded by filing 1914184 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) filing 2005748 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedAug 12, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) filing 2005502 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedAug 11, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
Statement of organization (Form 1) filing 2004304 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedAug 5, 2026In force, and itself an amendment amendment 5At the FEC ↗
48-hour notice of contributions or loans (Form 6) 48-HOUR NOTICE OF CONTRIBUTIONS OR LOANS RECEIVED 2026 · filing 2002518 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedJul 28, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
48-hour notice of contributions or loans (Form 6) 48-HOUR NOTICE OF CONTRIBUTIONS OR LOANS RECEIVED 2026 · filing 2002064 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedJul 25, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
48-hour notice of contributions or loans (Form 6) 48-HOUR NOTICE OF CONTRIBUTIONS OR LOANS RECEIVED 2026 · filing 2001856 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedJul 24, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
48-hour notice of contributions or loans (Form 6) 48-HOUR NOTICE OF CONTRIBUTIONS OR LOANS RECEIVED 2026 · filing 2001421 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedJul 23, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
48-hour notice of contributions or loans (Form 6) 48-HOUR NOTICE OF CONTRIBUTIONS OR LOANS RECEIVED 2026 · filing 2001075 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedJul 21, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
48-hour notice of contributions or loans (Form 6) 48-HOUR NOTICE OF CONTRIBUTIONS OR LOANS RECEIVED 2026 · filing 2000396 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedJul 20, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
48-hour notice of contributions or loans (Form 6) 48-HOUR NOTICE OF CONTRIBUTIONS OR LOANS RECEIVED 2026 · filing 1998576 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedJul 16, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) filing 1970616 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedApr 21, 2026In forceAt the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) no file number published MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEENo coverage period reportedJul 30, 2025In forceAt the FEC ↗
Miscellaneous submission (Form 99) filing 1881232 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedMar 19, 2025In forceAt the FEC ↗
Statement of organization (Form 1) filing 1881216 MCGUIRE RECOUNT COMMITTEENo coverage period reportedMar 19, 2025In forceAt the FEC ↗
Statement of organization (Form 1) filing 1878613 MCGUIRE FOR VIRGINIANo coverage period reportedFeb 25, 2025Superseded by filing 2004304 amendment 4 Counted toward nothing on this site.At the FEC ↗
Showing 1 to 40 of 42 filings

What the FEC asked about these filings

8 requests for additional information were sent about the 2026 cycle's filings. These are routine correspondence between the FEC and committees, they say nothing about whether anything was wrong, and no amount, ranking, or comparison on this site is affected by them.

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the APRIL QUARTERLY 2026 report (filing 1963119), covering Jan 1, 2026 to Mar 31, 2026, on Jul 7, 2026. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on Aug 11, 2026 (filing 2005708). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the PRE-PRIMARY 2026 report (filing 1981056), covering Apr 1, 2026 to May 27, 2026, on Jul 7, 2026. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on Jul 15, 2026 (filing 1994899). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the YEAR-END 2025 report (filing 1943275), covering Oct 1, 2025 to Dec 31, 2025, on Mar 17, 2026. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on May 21, 2026 (filing 1978527). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the OCTOBER QUARTERLY 2025 report (filing 1921198), covering Jul 1, 2025 to Sep 30, 2025, on Jan 11, 2026. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on Jan 31, 2026 (filing 1943229). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the JULY QUARTERLY 2025 report (filing 1900448), covering Apr 1, 2025 to Jun 30, 2025, on Aug 5, 2025. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on Sep 9, 2025 (filing 1914188). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 report (filing 1900447), covering Jan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025, on Aug 5, 2025. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on Sep 7, 2025 (filing 1914042). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 report (filing 1897304), covering Jan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025, on Jun 29, 2025. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on Jul 14, 2025 (filing 1900447). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Request for additional information

The FEC asked this committee for more information about the APRIL QUARTERLY 2025 report (filing 1886390), covering Jan 1, 2025 to Mar 31, 2025, on May 22, 2025. A request for additional information asks a committee to clarify or correct something in a report. It is not a violation, an enforcement action, or a finding that anything was wrong, and nothing on this page is ranked, scored, or adjusted because of it.

An amendment to the same report was filed afterwards, on Jun 26, 2025 (filing 1897304). The FEC does not publish whether the two are connected, so this is the order the dates fall in and nothing more.

FEC request type 2, published as the FEC's own code and not translated here. Read the request at the FEC ↗

Cycles 2022 through 2026

This range has gaps: it covers only the cycles named above rather than every cycle between them. This is not a lifetime total. Campaign finance here is keyed to the FEC records for the offices John J. McGuire III has held, so money raised for an office they ran for and did not win is not part of it.

Combined totals across stored cycles
MeasureAmount
Total receipts$2,043,851
Individual contributions$1,320,308
PAC and other committee contributions$415,801
Total spending$1,553,724

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2026 two-year cycle only. Use the cycle links above to change it; the combined section further up covers several cycles at once.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.